In 1887 the Lutheran congregation decided to erect a new brick church building at its present site on the north side of West Main Street. The land for this building was given to the congregation by the daughters of Adam Q. Bender, and ground was broken on May 25, 1887. The tower bell, which was removed from the “Old Stone Church”, was installed in the steeple and the completed structure was consecrated on Nov 16, 1890. Through the 1913 donation from Mr. Jonas Swab, the west wing, library addition, and the water powered Möller pipe organ were added. In 1941 the present Möller pipe organ, Opus 7026, was installed and in 1947 the Schulmerich Carillonic tower bells were added in honor of our congregation’s veterans. In preparation for the 175th anniversary there is new flooring, paint and an artistic restoration of our unique stenciled chancel & ceiling.
The present parsonage was built in 1908 on what was the old school ground, purchased from G.W. Uhler. The first pastor to live in the present parsonage was The Rev. E.J. Heilman who served from 1909 to 1918. The four bedroom home is a neo-classic brick structure originally patterned after the Swab mansion. Its several interesting features include decorative oak woodwork, mantles and pocket doors on the first floor, chestnut woodwork on the second, a semi-finished third floor with original gas fixtures, three remaining fireplaces, bay windows, and a distinctive open staircase. The parsonage underwent its latest restoration and decoration in period styles for its current resident, The Rev. Nathan C. Minnich, the 19th pastor of Salem Lutheran Church.